The UK will reopen travel to limited destinations from May 17

The UK will reopen travel to limited destinations from May 17

Britain is all set to restart international travel from May 17 but to only limited destinations (quarantine-free holidays). The countries that have made it to the green list include Israel, Portugal, Australia, New Zealand, and Singapore. The announcement was made by Transport Secretary Grant Shapps.

Shapps said, “Today marks the first step in our cautious return to international travel, with measures designed above all else to protect public health and ensure we don’t throw away the hard-fought gains we’ve all strived to earn this year”

However, popular tourist destinations like France, Spain, Italy, the United States, and Greece couldn’t make it to the list. If a Briton visits these nations, he/she will require self-isolation on return to the UK.

The secretary further said, “The only route out of this pandemic is a careful, prudent, and responsible one. The reason there aren’t more places on the list is there aren’t more places that are in the fortunate position that the U.K. has got itself in.”

There are a few measures that one will have to take for green list travel. It will require travelers to take two tests for COVID-19. One will be taken right before arrival back into the UK and one within two days of returning to the country.

But the countries where Britons wish to travel will still have their own entry rules. For example, the US has banned Britons from entering the country.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *